Here goes nothing!

Hello all... Im completely new at this but dont know what to do
My husband has been addicted to prescription narcotics for YEARS. Today he starts his rehab (we have been married for 10 years) Not going to lie, im so scared. I have found out that we are broke and that he has been purchasing pills from people he works with and this makes me even more angry. I feel guilty because I am the one who suggested the go to the doctor to get the stupid pain pills for relief in the first place. Part of me wants to run away screaming and tell him to deal with it and then part of me is like I can do this.  I have zero friends because he always makes me feel guilty about having time to myself with friends when i had them. I have no family, lost my parents a couple years ago, deep down I know I havent dealt with that completely either.  I work late most of the time because its the only social interaction I get outside home. The rehab place told him that he could not have any pain medications after noon yesterday so he took 28 pills yesterday before noon. SIGH, I used to think I was really strong, now im not so sure
  • 13 Commentsby Likes|Date
  • @BC2448 ;Hello and welcome. Thank you so much for reaching out. That's great that your husband is going to rehab. And I'm sure it is quite scary for you. This is a big change in the household. You're probably used to things the way they are, and chances are they'll be changing. It can be frightening.

The way you feel is not uncommon. You probably have a lot of different feelings going on right now. Being on the opposite end of an addict and a recovering addict can be challenging. You bring up a good point about where do you fit in in all of this? This is a great opportunity for you to work on yourself, while he works on himself.