Medication for life

Do you know of anyone who has had anxiety medication for the entire life? Is it really true that people should have anxiety medication just as people take high BP medication? What are your thoughts on this? I ask you this question as I once heard a psychiatrist preaching the same. 
  • 15 Commentsby Likes|Date
  • @bonzer hi there. good question. i am not a doctor, so i'm not an expert on this.

my thought on the matter is that there may be some people with anxiety disorders that may take meds for life to manage symptoms.  for those that suffer from mild anxiety or perhaps going through something very stressful (divorce, loss of loved one, etc) maybe be on the meds and then taper off down the road.

so perhaps it has more to do with the severity of the anxiety. also, it's a good idea to look for alternative ways to relieve the anxiety.
  • My grandma was on it from the time she had kids (in her 20's) until now (she's in her late 80's). So I've never actually known her without them. You wouldn't think she was anxious at all, and honestly I don't know if it was a specific event that triggered it or what - she has never really opened up about it, nor do I want to pry into the circumstances. She just mentioned it once that she'd been on them since she was in her 20's.

I figure if she's been prescribed them for that long though it's helping her get through everyday life - I don't see it as a bad thing. She's very fit and healthy in all other respects.
  • Some people have chronic conditions that require anti anxiety medications to make life bearable. Maybe not Xanax, but one of the nerve pills.
  • @Beatrice, propanolol is probably the most common drug used for this purpose. It's been used to treat anxiety (as well as a whole host of other issues) since the 1970s and is perfectly safe to take for an extended period of time. 
  • @missbishi
    I've never heard of that one. But I know some people who swear by Paxil. Is it similar?