Addicted to....cracking knuckles?

I'm constantly cracking my fingers, toes, neck, and back. I've got it down to a point that all I need to do is clench my feet or flex, and things will go pop! Does anyone else do this? It's mindless and  I do it when I'm bored, but I'm secretly terrified that I'm damaging my joints and will eventually end up with horrible arthritis. 

Also, this is slightly funny to me, but my boyfriend says that I crack diligently even in my sleep. Lol!
  • 11 Commentsby Likes|Date
  • @hemmo hello! no, i've never really heard of this...i don't think it will hurt you in the long run, but then again, i'm not a doctor. lol

it's a habit.  if you're not  happy with this, do some research on breaking habits...try different techniques and see what works for you!! i believe you can break this habit!
  • Cracking knuckles is basically the air popping out from between your articulations, so it's not as dangerous as people claim. I like doing it as well, more precisely when I want to release some tension. There's nothing wrong with doing it, and it sounds more like a habit than an actual addiction. You can break it easily if you want to. The only reason I see for doing so is because it gets annoying over time.
  • I am actually in the opposite camp, I don't like the sound of cracking knuckles so I avoid it at all costs! I think like Dominica said it's just a habit, like biting nails would be, rather than an addiction. Check out YouTube, I'm sure there's videos on ways to break habits on there that might be helpful if you want to stop!