Being stopped by perfectionism

I have a huge problem... Even though I've never considered myself a perfectionist, I'm constantly stopped by my fear of not being good enough. It cost me A LOT to start writing my novel, because at first I was terrified of creating something terrible (even though I wasn't going to show it to anyone!). I'm genuinely envious of people who just try doing new things and are not terrified of failing. 
For example,  I've wanted to create a blog in order to get audience for my novel, as well as start expressing myself... but again, I feel like if I won't be instantly successful (which is impossible, let's be honest), there's no point to it. I dislike reading my own articles and diary entries, because they always seem lacking quality and just poor. 

Has anybody else had issue with this? How can I deal with my perfectionism and stop sabotaging myself?
  • 24 Commentsby Likes|Date
  • @Elfprincess hello! thanks for sharing. i totally get it. i'm an author and writer myself...and i've felt the same way and sometimes still do...

i think most writers feel that way sometimes...i think what helps me is to remember to have fun...like, i enjoy writing...so when i keep in mind i'm writing to enjoy it...it doesn't matter what anyone else thinks...i just do it...in small chunks here or there...

just start a blog. writing is an art and there's no right or wrong..it's about experience. we'd all love to be best sellers huh? but i'm not attached to that. i'd rather just follow what i love (in all areas) and let the universe fill in the grid. 

if you start a blog, send me the link...i love to read other's posts..not with a judging eye, but an appreciative eye...it's art and i love all art. 

we all have a story, or stories...and the more you write, actually the more it comes with ease and flow.

you are good enough....you are good. period. whether you're a beginner or expert..you're good enough. worthy. 

our life journey is a journey toward self-love....