My spouse needs help

My husband is an opiate addict along with major depression and PTSD.  We are trying to find him a facility in NJ/NY that can treat both conditions.  The problem is my husband refuses to participate in group.  He rather one on one treatment.  I know this is not even an option but I am new to all of this so any help would be appreciated.  Thanks
  • 9 Commentsby Likes|Date
  • @spouseneedshelp... Welcome to the community and thanks for sharing with us. I'm sorry to hear about your husband's issues. You may want to look into a place called the Center for Motivation and Change. They have both inpatient and outpatient treatment in NY. Here's a link to their website: http://motivationandchange.com

Please know that we are here to help and support you any way we can. 

Keeping you and your husband in my thoughts and prayers. And sending you positive vibes. Along with some virtual hugs.
  • Thank you so much Dean!  Praying everyday that he can beat this!
  • @spouseneedshelp hello and welcome. thanks for reaching out. 

i do wish and your husband the best...and hope you can find him something he will flourish in...

here for you if you need!
  • @spouseneedshelp Hi there! I can offer you one little bit of advice as I was in the same situation as your husband. When I first went to rehab I was completely against talking in groups as I felt like I was a failure. I sat silent for my first week there, but then something just happened and I was able to open up and it was like taking your first breath when you feel like you're drowning. Immediate relief.
    No one can force him to get help. The one thing about addicts is you have to want it for yourself. That being said, I didn't not go in the first time wanting it but it at least opened my eyes. Even if it was only 2 months, I got to see a brief period of sober life. The last time I went I really wanted it. And I got it.