Anxiety and first job

Do you have any advice for social anxiety sufferers, especially on the first job? I graduated university in a chemistry field, but right now there aren't really options to work in the area where I live; even though I need money. So, I applied for a supermarket and got accepted. I'll be stocking after hours but I'm still really nervous and almost at a breaking point (and I didn't even start yet). Dealing with people is the worst for me, even the few I'll be dealing with. Do you have any tips on how to deal with these feelings? I probably don't even have a reason to be this nervous, but I can't help it.
  • 15 Commentsby Likes|Date
  • Yes I remember being scared of my first job and I am a little nervous about my second one on the internet as a work at home teen haha! Calling and handling customer support one on one with other people seems a little scary.
  • I used to have social anxiety during my teenage years. I guess teenage angst made me feel like everyone in the world was ganging up on me. What cured me of my social phobia were exposure to different stories and joining events that offered me more opportunities to interact with people my age as well as like-minded folks.

Over the years I've realized, as Eleanor Roosevelt had said, "no one can make me feel inferior without my consent." The thing is every human being is the same and the reality we live in - including the standards and hierarchies in this world - is just a man-made construct. Since everything's just a product of human thought, I sure as heck would not be afraid of anyone or anything - not even the opinions of people who would one day wither away to oblivion just like the rest of us.

So relax. Society is nothing compared to your innate greatness. Your opinion and how you perceive yourself matter more. Best of luck!