Battling Agoraphobia

I have been battling agoraphobia for almost 3 years now and it is hard when I make plans with my friends or my loved ones, but when the day comes I just don't want to leave my room. Today I had a whole day of fun planned with my best friend, but I felt sick to my stomach at the idea of leaving the house and getting in the car. I just feel so defeated sometimes. 
  • 8 Commentsby Likes|Date
  • @sillylucy ,

I hate that I had to Google agoraphobia to get a better understanding . I'm very sorry you have to deal with this .Is this something a therapist can help with . I'm sure you have already considered that approach . 

I wish I could be of more help . Your posts are always so thoughtful and caring . How can we be more supportive ?

• Must be quite frustrating, I'm not sure how it would be treated but I do think that if you've only had it for three years then it might be possible to overcome it. Was there really anything specific or perhaps a combination of things that brought it on? Things that hadn't happened before it started developing?
  • I have had agoraphobia for quite a time, back when I was younger, however I have experienced an easy phase, I would simply get very anxious when I was in a place with lots of people and lots of open spaces.

At some point I got cured of it, but never did anything to resolve just matter, it just simply came. Maybe you need some psychological assistance.
  • @sillylucy, There will have to come a time when you have to face your fears. What's the worst that could happen? Your bowels give way and you rush to the nearest bathroom. Really, you should remember life is short and the only time to have fun is in your youth. Don't let it pass you by. Take deep breaths constantly when you go out and you'll be fine.